Beth Jusino: Walking to the End of the World (Camino De Santiago)

Wednesday, November 14, 2018 – 7:00pm

Join us as we welcome writer and traveler Beth Jusino to Browsers in support of her new book from Mountaineers Books, Walking to the End of the World: A Thousand Miles on the Camino De Santiago. Beth will present, answer questions and sign books.

ABOUT THE BOOK: 
In April 2015, Beth and Eric Jusino, laden with backpacks and nerves, walked out of a cathedral in the historic village of Le Puy, France, down a cobblestone street, and turned west. Seventy-nine days, a thousand miles, two countries, two mountain ranges, and three pairs of shoes later, they reached the Atlantic Ocean.

More than two million pilgrims have walked the Way of Saint James, a long- distance hiking trail familiar to most Americans by its Spanish name, the Camino de Santiago. Each pilgrim has their own reason for undertaking the journey, and most opt to do only part of the distance. The Jusinos’ pilgrimage was about taking a break from the relentless pace of modern life, getting away from all their electronic devices, and experiencing a three-month sabbatical from regular life in order to complete the entire trail. They just had to walk twelve to fifteen miles every day along a generally well-marked path. Simple.

Beth is not an athlete, not into extreme adventures, and, she insists, she is not a risk-taker of any sort. She does not even speak French or Spanish. But she can tell a story. Walking to the End of the World is a warm-hearted and engaging story about an average couple going on an adventure together, tracing ancient paths first created in the tenth and eleventh centuries, paths that continue to inspire and reveal surprises to us today in the twenty-first.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:
Beth Jusino is an award-winning writer, editor, and book-publishing consultant in Seattle. She also has been a regular lecturer on the Camino de Santiago. She is a recipient of the Barbara Savage Award. You can learn more about Beth at bethjusino.com, and about her obsession with the Camino at caminotimestwo.com

Her Body and Other Parties

Kathryn’s Staff Pick:

Image result for her body and other parties

I can’t recommend this book enough! An instant classic in psychological realism, cognitive dysphoria, and queer feminist fiction. A must-read for fans of Shirley Jackson and Angela Carter. Machado is a genre blender and master storyteller, weaving the surreal, fantastical, and the horrific. Incredibly relevant. Gives voice to women’s rage, pain, and oppression. Effortlessly shifts from humor to horror. “The Husband Stitch,” “The Resident,” and “Inventory” are my favorites.

Cat’s I’ve Known: Book Signing with Katie Haegele

Monday, November 12 from 4:00-6:00 PM

Drop-in on Monday, November 12 from 4:00-6:00 PM for a book signing with Katie Haegele, author of the wonderful book Cats I’ve Known. This is a perfect (resisted the pun) gift for the cat lover in your life. We will also have a whole table of cat books and tote bags!

ABOUT THE BOOK:
From deep friendships to brief encounters, this is the story of the cats in Katie Haegele’s life, or rather the story of her life in relation to the many cats (44, to be exact) she meets on Philadelphia’s streets, in alleys,
in homes, and in bookstores.

Anyone who’s ever lived with a cat knows that they are their own particular creatures. With their own personalities, moods, and styles, each cat brings an entirely new experience to one’s life. In her new book, Katie Haegele tells the stories of all the cats she’s met in her life, and how they impacted or interacted with Katie’s life. Together the stories in Cats I’ve Known create a sharp, wise, and at times hilarious gaze through which we see cats for what they
truly are: minor deities that mostly ignore the human foibles being played out around them. Katie tells her story against an ever-shifting backdrop of the cats we often take for granted, and who ignore us all democratically in return.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:
Katie Haegele is a writer, journalist, zine maker, and book critic who lives in Philadelphia. Her written works have been published in Utne, Bitch, Adbusters, The Comics Journal, Philadelphia Magazine, The Believer Logger, and elsewhere.

Modern Poetry Book Club

Tuesday, November 13, 2018 – 7:00pm

The Browsers Modern Poetry Book Club is led by Elise Dressler and meets monthly. We would like to extend an invitation to all of our poetry loving customers (RSVP is not necessary). The books are available in store at 15% off if you plan to attend the book club.

Image result for baby i don't care

Every meeting explores a different poet through reading and discussion.

November’s selection is Baby, I Don’t Care by Chelsey Minnis.

More: Chelsey Minnis’s new collection of poems follows the struggle of a flawed character in a cinematic world. Playing with old ideas of wealth and love from Holly wood’s golden era, these poems flirt with nostalgia without ever succumbing to it, casting a new light on the present through the fantasies of the past.

If you have any questions about the event, please email Elise.

The Answers

Elise’s Staff Pick:

Image result for the answers a novel

The Answers: A Novel By Catherine Lacey

Researchers and a really rich guy think they have devised a way to eliminate emotional pain, specifically the pain of loving another. Mary is an abject protagonist. She is searching for an escape from illness and the mundanity of her days. The particular way in which she finds herself smack dab in the middle of these strange experiments makes this book a genuine page turner … good luck putting it down!

Browsers Cookbook Club

Thursday, November 8, 2018 – 7:00pm

Join us for the Fall gathering of the Cookbook Club on Thursday, November 8, 2018 at 7:00PM. Sometimes-food-writer Kelli Samson and Browsers Bookshop owner Andrea Griffith will host an evening of good food and conversation. This is a potluck-style event with every attendee choosing a recipe from the cookbook to share with the group.

The event is limited to 16 participants, and the pre-order (publication date is 10/9) or purchase (after 10/9) of the cookbook at Browsers confirms your place on the list. After the event is full, we will form a waitlist. If you have questions, please email Andrea.

This season we will be cooking out of Seattle food writer Ashley Rodriquez’s new cookbook, Let’s Stay In: More Than 120 Recipes to Nourish the People You Love. Copies will be at Browsers on the publication date (10/9) but are available to pre-order at Browsers now.